BOE 2023

Board of Education

Our school system is governed by a nine-member board of education whose members are elected from separate districts in the county and serve staggered four-year terms. The board sets policy, and the superintendent and administrative staff manage the system's day-to-day operation. The board has budget review authority, but it is not a taxing body and must submit its annual budget requests to the McDowell County Board of Commissioners which controls allocation of funds to the schools. In North Carolina the basic public education program is funded by the state and is augmented with local funds.

The schedule for regular board meetings will be established annually by the board. Meetings are held in the boardroom at the system's Administration Building, 334 South Main Street, Marion. Regular meetings, can and usually do, include a consent agenda as well as action, information items, and an opportunity for public comments.

Each Board of Education Member is committed to working toward setting and achieving goals that will improve and strengthen our instructional program.

Our goals are:

  • High Student Performance
  • State of the Art Buildings and Equipment
  • Safe, Orderly and Caring Schools
  • Quality Teachers and Administrators
  • Strong Family, Community, and Business Support

Board Members may be contacted by phone or via email using the following links:




BETH SILVER 828-442-6878
DONNIE SUTTLES 828-460-1916
MICHELLE PUPOH 828-559-6017
TERRY FRANK 828-442-5021




Citizens desiring an item to be placed on the agenda for a specific board meeting should direct written requests to the superintendent at least six working days prior to the meeting.

Public Comment

Each month, the first part of the regular scheduled board meeting will be set aside for citizens to address the board through public comment. Each speaker will receive three minutes to present comments. A sign-up sheet will be available 30 minutes before the meeting begins for any individual or group to indicate their desire to address the board. The board chair will recognize speakers in the order the request was made.

Please refer to Board Policy 2310: Public Participation at Board Meetings for specific details.